the-colors.ch
Istituto di cromopuntura

Home > Terapie e studi clinici > Studio casa anziani malcantonese [ENG]

Study on the efficacy of colorpuncture for pain treatment in the setting of the retirement home 'Casa Anziani Malcantonese'.

casa anziani malcantonese

CH-6980 Castelrotto
Tel.: +41 91 611 37 00
Fax: +41 91 611 37 01
E-mail: info@oscam.ch
Internet: www.oscam.ch

Abstract

Roberto Perucchi, pedagogista, Dr. Med. Fausto Pagnamenta, specialista FMH pediatria, Dr.ssa Med. Marica Bedrina, specialista FMH medicina generale, Dr. Med. Alberto Foletti, specialista FMH chirurgia, Chiara Piccaluga, cromopuntrice, Paola Nicoletti, infermiera professionale, Laura Ceolin Perucchi, cromopuntrice

1. Background

Roberto Perucchi, - Director of the retirement home 'Casa Anziani Malcantonese' (CAM) - promoted at the beginning of 2012 a research project on pain reduction using chromopuncture by Peter Mandel. The CAM already offers to its guests a wide variety of therapeutic options, i.e. physiotherapy, 100% ; music therapy, 20%; and currently chromopuncture, 30%. The CAM is located next to a hospital for acute and chronic illnesses.

2. Methods

Colorpuncture is a therapy proposed in 1980 by Peter Mandel in Germany. It consists of irradiating the skin on precise spots with coloured light, following acupuncture meridians and other original reflexology structures. Following the bio-physiological indications by F. Popp, in the 90's he introduced incoherent infrared light of a vibrational frequency of 950 nm for pain treatment. Empirical results based on hundreds of patients showed a strong efficacy in reducing and suppressing pain. The research was carried out from February 2012 to March 2013 with weekly therapeutic sessions. 12 patients volunteered for the study with an average age of 85.8 years old. Pain perception measurements were recorded using standard protocols adopted in all Swiss hospitals. Such measurements were taken before and after each session, as well as after a month following the end of the study. Nursing personnel independent from the colorpuncture therapist was involved in the collection of these measurements.

3. Results

The pain scale consists of four levels:
1. No pain;
2. Mild;
3. Moderate;
4. Intense.
Already after a first non-specific session, pain was reduced by 30%. Comparing pain levels before and after the study, it was found that pain was reduced in 89% of the cases, with complete pain disappearance in all but one patient. Moreover, the subjects' quality of life increased noticeably according to their subjective assessment.

ricerca cromoterapia

In parallel to pain reduction, drugs consumption also decreased. Drugs are categorized as follows:
Level 1: anti-inflammatory drugs and FANS, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (tylenol).
Level 2: weak opioid drugs (codeine).
Level 3: opioid drugs (morphine).
Drugs reduction between the beginning of the study and its conclusion was as follows: 55% for level 1; 50% for level 2 and 40% for level 3. drugs reduction was prescribed by the patients' doctor.

ricerca cromoterapia

The study also aimed at assessing pharmacological costs in relation to pain reduction. Before the beginning of the study, the cost per unit for antalgic drugs was 19.43 CHF per one-day treatment and per patient. After the conclusion of the study, the cost was 13.50 CHF. This corresponds to a cost reduction by 30.49%. On an annual basis, costs reduction per unit went from 7092 CHF to 4930 CHF.

ricerca cromoterapia

4. Final considerations

To our knowledge, this is the first study on colorpuncture and pain of this level of detail which lasted for an entire year, and which had an independent objective assessment of pain levels. The reduction of pharmacological costs is an added benefit of colorpuncture treatments. It would be interesting to introduce chromopuncture in other medical institutions as well in order to verify these results.

the-colors.ch
Istituto di cromopuntura

Home > Terapie e studi clinici > Studio casa anziani malcantonese [DEU]

Untersuchung über die Wirksamkeit der Farbpunktur (Cromopuntura) bei der Schmerzbehandlung im Altersheim Malcantonese (Casa anziani malcantonese/CAM) in Castelrotto/TI.

casa anziani malcantonese

CH-6980 Castelrotto
Tel.: +41 91 611 37 00
Fax: +41 91 611 37 01
E-mail: info@oscam.ch
Internet: www.oscam.ch

Roberto Perucchi, pedagogista, Dr. Med. Fausto Pagnamenta, specialista FMH pediatria, Dr.ssa Med. Marica Bedrina, specialista FMH medicina generale, Dr. Med. Alberto Foletti, specialista FMH chirurgia, Chiara Piccaluga, cromopuntrice, Paola Nicoletti, infermiera professionale, Laura Ceolin Perucchi, cromopuntrice

1. Hintergrund

Auf Initiative von Roberto Perucchi, Direktor des CAM, wurde 2012 die Wirksamkeit der Farbpunktur nach der Methode von Peter Mandel bei der Schmerzbehandlung untersucht. CAM bietet bereits verschiedene Therapien an, so Physiotherapie (100 Prozent), Musik-Therapie (Klangbett, 20 Prozent) und Farbpunktur (30 Prozent). Dem Altersheim ist ein Spital mit Notfallstation und eine Abteilung für Chronischkranke angegliedert.

2. Methode/Vorgehen

Die Farbpunktur wurde 1980 von Peter Mandel entwickelt. Grundlage dieser Therapieform mit farbigem Licht sind die Entdeckungen der Biophotonenforschung. Entscheidend neu ist, dass der Farbpunktur die Akupunktur zugrunde gelegt wurde. Diese Therapie beruht ganz auf dem Ausgleich von Disharmonien auf der energetischen Ebene. Fritz-Albert Popp, Entdecker der Biophotonen, wies in den neunziger Jahren nach, dass die Bestrahlung mit inkohärentem Infrarot (IR mit der Wellenlänge von 950 nm) schmerzlindernd wirkt. Hunderte von Patienten haben seither die Wirksamkeit der IR-Behandlung bestätigt. Die CAM-Untersuchung umfasste den Zeitraum von Februar 2012 bis März 2013 mit wöchentlichen therapeutischen Sitzungen. Zwölf Patienten stellten sich freiwillig zur Verfügung; ihr Durchschnittsalter betrug 85,8 Jahre. In der Studie wurden die Schmerzgrade vor und nach jeder Therapie-Sitzung anhand in sämtlichen schweizerischen Spitälern gültigen Kriterien erfasst. Ein Jahr dauerte die Therapie. Einen Monat nach deren Abschluss wurde der Schmerzgrad von unabhängigem medizinischem Personal festgelegt.

3. Ergebnis

Die Schmerzskala umfasst "keine, milde, mittlere und starke Schmerzen". Bereits nach der ersten Farbpunktur-Therapie (ohne IR) wurde eine Schmerzlinderung von 30 Prozent erreicht. Der Schmerzgrad wurde vor der Untersuchung und einen Monat nach deren Beendigung erfasst. Die Schmerzlinderung betrug 89 Prozent. Die Patienten selbst stellten eine wesentliche Verbesserung ihrer Lebensqualität fest.

ricerca cromoterapia

Gleichzeitung mit der Schmerzlinderung verminderte sich die Einnahme der vom Arzt verschriebenen Medikamente. Die entzündungshemmenden konnten um 55 Prozent, Codein oder Morphin beinhaltende um 50, beziehungsweise um 40 Prozent reduziert werden.

ricerca cromoterapia

Vor Beginn der Therapie beliefen sich die Kosten der Medikamente für einen Patienten pro Tag auf 19,43 CHF, nach der Therapie auf 13.50 CHF, was eine Kostenminderung von 30,49 Prozent bedeutet. Hochgerechnet auf ein Jahr entspricht dies einer Kostensenkung von 7’092 CHF auf 4'930 CHF.

ricerca cromoterapia

4. Schlussfolgerung

Unseres Wissens handelt es sich hier um die erste, eingehende Untersuchung der Wirkungsweise der Farbpunktur bei der Schmerzbehandlung. Es ist die erste Studie aufgrund einer unabhängigen und objektiven Erfassung. Alleine die Senkung der Kosten für Medikamente spricht für diese Art von Therapie. Es dürfte aufschlussreich sein, wenn andere medizinische Institutionen die Farbpunktur einführten und anwendeten, um die aufgeführten Ergebnisse zu bestätigen.